Barbara Enright Named to Women in Poker Hall of Fame

by Lou on February 7, 2008

Kudos to Barbara Enright. This is obviously her time for Halls of Fame. On July 6, 2007, Enright was inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame, making her the first and only woman player to achieve this honor.

On February 2, 2008, Enright was named to the Women in Poker Hall of Fame’s (WiPHOF) initial class of inductees.

She also captured the WiPHOF Celebration Poker Tournament by winning the event that followed a luncheon to honor inductees—as if to punctuate her induction and prove she really did belong.

In 1995, Barbara Enright became the first and only female poker player to reach the final table of the $10,000 buy-in WSOP Main Event. A year later, she became the first female player to win a WSOP bracelet in an open event.
Ladies International Poker Series (LIPS Tour) founder Lupe Soto stated, “This is just a testament to the professional poker player Barbara truly is and why she was selected to the WiPHOF in the first place!”

Enright was inducted into WiPHOF at Binion’s Casino in Las Vegas along with fellow poker luminaries Susie Isaacs, Linda Johnson, and Marsha Waggoner. World Poker Tour commentator Mike Sexton was the Master of Ceremony, and professional poker player, industry leader, and Poker Player Newspaper columnist Jan Fisher served as keynote speaker.

Poker dignitaries who gathered to witness the induction ceremony included Russ Hamilton, Tom McEvoy, Nolan Dalla, Matt Savage, JJ Liu, Kathy Liebert, Donna Harris, Kathy Raymond, Freddy Deeb, Barry Shulman, Janis Sexton, Dave Lamb, Doug Dalton, Deborah Giardina, Phyllis Caro, and Kelley O’Hara.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: