Poker Hall of Fame Adds Two New Members

by Lou on November 4, 2008

The Poker Hall of Fame announced its 2008 Class, and will induct Dewey Tomko and Henry Orenstein. Tomko is a three-time World Series of Poker bracelet winner, a two-time main event runner-up, and the holder of the longest consecutive main event participation record of 35 years.

Tomko enters alongside Henry Orenstein, a Holocaust survivor who won the 1996 World Series of Poker 7-card stud championship and also cashed twice in the main event, including a final table finish in 1995.

Orenstein is better known as an inventor who holds more than 100 patents, including those for Sesame Street toys, Snoopy toys, the Transformers and U.S. Patent 5,451,054, which gave Orenstein the exclusive right to detect and display hole cards in poker games.

It was his patent for the lipstick camera that turned poker into a made-for-TV attraction, created an estimated 150,000 jobs worldwide, spurred the meteoric rise of poker, and helped popularize the game to heights never seen before.

Orenstein and Tomko will be enshrined Sunday, November 9 at the Penn & Teller Theater at the Rio All-Suites® Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas, during the finale of the 2008 WSOP championship. ESPN will show portions of the ceremony during their November 11 telecast.

The enshrinement and WSOP final table play are open and free to the public with seating available on a first come, first serve basis.

To be eligible for the Poker Hall of Fame, a player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition, played for high stakes, played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers, stood the test of time, or for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

The entire list of 37 Poker Hall of Fame members includes (alphabetical with year of induction in parenthesis):

Tom Abdo (1982)
Crandell Addington (2005)
Bobby Baldwin (2003)
Billy Baxter (2006)
Lyle Berman (2002)
Joe Bernstein (1983)
Benny Binion (1990)
Jack Binion (2005)
Bill Boyd (1981)
Doyle Brunson (1988)
Johnny Chan (2002)
T.J. Cloutier (2006)
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos (1979)
Barbara Enright (2007)
Fred “Sarge” Ferris (1989)
T “Blondie” Forbes (1980)
Henry Green (1986)
Murph Harrold (1984)
Phil “Poker Brat” Hellmuth (2007)
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok (1979)
Red Hodges (1985)
Edmond Hoyle (1979)
Berry Johnston (2004)
Jack Keller (1993)
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale (1979)
Roger Moore (1997)
Johnny Moss (1979)
Henry Orenstein (2008)
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson (1987)
Julius Oral “Little Man” Popwell (1996)
Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston (1992)
David “Chip” Reese (1991)
Jack “Treetop” Straus (1988)
Duane “Dewey” Tomko (2008)
Stu “The Kid” Ungar (2001)
Red Winn (1979)
Sid Wyman (1979)

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: