10 Finalists Announced for Poker Hall of Fame

by Lou on September 2, 2010

The final ten names on the ballot for the WSOP Poker’s Hall of Fame class of 2010 are:  Chris Ferguson, Barry Greenstein, Jennifer Harman-Traniello, Dan Harrington, Phil Ivey, Linda Johnson, Tom McEvoy, Daniel Negreanu, Scotty Nguyen and Erik Seidel.

The ballot now goes to the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council and is then sent to the 16 living Hall of Fame members and a 17-person media panel. The top two vote-getters will be inducted, assuming they receive a majority of the vote.

Criteria for selection into the Poker Hall of Fame include:

• A player must have played poker against top competition
• Played for high stakes
• Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
• Stood the test of time
• For nominees who are not players, they must have contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Mike Sexton was 2009’s lone inductee, and the 38th member elected since the Poker Hall of Fame was established in 1979.

I don’t have a vote, but if I did, I’d have a tough time choosing between Tom McEvoy, Linda Johnson, and Dan Harrington.

{ 1 comment }

Maverick September 5, 2010 at 8:57 am

Dunno how McEvoy qualifies. He has never played consistently well. If he had, he wouldn’t have taken a floor job at Binions years after winning the WSOP. He definitely hasn’t stood the test of time unless you mean hanging around like a ball of navel lint. Furthermore, McEvoy doesn’t act like a hall of famer…particularly when it comes to panhandling endorsements on facebook. To me, McEvoy looks like a guy who got lucky, then lost his ass, and now has seen a meal ticket via sponsorships should he be able to get his name back into circulation.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: