Erik Seidel and Dan Harrington Named to Poker Hall of Fame

by Lou on October 21, 2010

Congrats to Erik Seidel (pictured left) and Dan Harrington on their selection for enshrinement as the Class of 2010 Poker Hall of Fame.  Voting was conducted by a panel comprising the 16 living members of the Hall and 17 media members.  They cast 10 votes each and could select up to three finalists, with each ballot adding up to 10 votes.

Harrington, who is well known as a writer as well as a player, won the WSOP’s main event in 1995—one of two events he captured that year—and made back-to-back final tables in 2003 and 2004.  The Harrington on Hold’em series is regarded as a leading strategic guide for no-limit hold’em.

Seidel is an eight-time WSOP gold bracelet winner and a major force in poker since finishing second in the 1988 WSOP main event—which was immortalized on celluloid in the film, Rounders. His first WSOP gold bracelet was won in 1992 and seven more followed during a 16 year period, and include five poker disciplines.

Five criteria must be met for a player to be selected into the Poker Hall of Fame. They are: “A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition; played for high stakes; played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers; stood the test of time; or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.”

On a personal note I was sorry to see that Tom McEvoy was not selected. Tom won the main event in 1983 and captured the Champions Invitational during the 2009 WSOP. McEvoy has four bracelets and a dozen poker books to his credit.  I’m hoping he is enshrined next year.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: