Erik Seidel Captures National Heads-Up Championship

by Lou on March 9, 2011

Erik Seidel, who is on a prime run in 2011, defeated an elite field to win the seventh annual National Heads-Up Poker Championship (NHPC) at Caesars Palace. Seidel defeated Chris Moneymaker in a best-of-three finale to claim the championship and $750,000 in first-place money.

Moneymaker, the man most credit as responsible for poker’s immense popularity, took home $300,000 as the second-place finisher.

“I have competed in the NHPC since 2005 and lost to Annie Duke in the finals at last year’s tournament, so my win today is truly special,” said Erik Seidel. “It is always exciting to compete against my fellow poker players who showcased great skill on the tables this year.”

Seidel defeated several top poker players on the way to the final table, including five-time World Series of Poker (WSOP) bracelet winner Allen Cunningham and two-time WSOP bracelet winner Jennifer Harman.

The National Heads-Up Poker Championship features 64 players in a series of heads-up matches in a bracket-style format modeled after college basketball’s championship tournament, except that the finals are the best of three.

NBC’s television coverage of the 2011 NHPC is as follows:

April 24 – Noon-2 p.m. ET/9-11 a.m. PT
May 1 – Noon-2 p.m. ET/9-11 a.m. PT
May 8 – Noon-2 p.m. ET/9-11 a.m. PT
May 15 – Noon-2 p.m. ET/9-11 a.m. PT
May 22 – Noon-3 p.m. ET/9-Noon PT

The NHPC prize structure increased in 2011 to $1.8 million in combined prize money, and featured the following breakdown:

Champion $750,000

Runner-Up $300,000

3 & 4 Place $125,000

5 – 8 Place $75,000

9 – 16 Place $30,000

{ 1 comment }

TripleBarrelPoker March 14, 2011 at 3:10 am

Jackie Chan still has his soul!! ha but congrats on the win!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: